Skip to content ↓

Special Educational Needs and Disability

At Kew Riverside, we believe that all children are entitled to an education that enables them to make progress so that they:

  • achieve their best
  • become confident, independent individuals living fulfilling lives, and
  • make a successful transition into the next stage of their education.

The SEND Code of Practice (2014) states that a child or young person has SEND if they have a learning difficulty or disability that calls for special educational provision to be made for him or her.  A child of compulsory school age or a young person has a learning difficulty if he or she:

  1. Has a significantly greater difficulty in learning than the majority of others of the same age; or
  2. Has a disability which prevents or hinders them from making use of educational facilities of a kind generally provided for others of the same age in mainstream schools or mainstream post-16 institutions.

Special Educational Needs are broadly defined by the following four areas of need:

  • Communication and Interaction
  • Cognition and learning
  • Social, emotional and mental health
  • Sensory and/or physical needs

At Kew Riverside we are able to offer provision for many Special Educational Needs, for example, dyslexia, speech and language needs, social communication difficulties (including autism spectrum conditions) and behaviour difficulties, without an Education, Health and Care (EHC) Plan in place.  There are other kinds of SEND that are more specialist, and for which we would need to access training and advice so that these kinds of needs can be fully met. 

The school currently meets the needs of pupils with an EHC Plan for the following kinds of special educational need: autism and social communication difficulties; speech and language difficulties; specific learning difficulties and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).